Review Day!!!

I think I will make Friday my book review day.  I will be reading a lot once the summer comes and I can say so long to school and kids.  I love them I really do but they are draining some times.   So let me start this new weekly update with my first of two reviews.


imgres

 

Slated by Teri Terry
I truly can not begin telling you how much I enjoyed this book.  This is not just another dystopian society book, this has heart and shows how the mind can do amazing things.  Kyla has been slated; meaning her memory has been wiped clean and she is being given a second chance.  When you are slated it means you have done something wrong in your past, something that could hurt the government. And the government, to make sure you won’t do anything like this again, monitors you through a bracelet that shocks you if you dip below 3.5.  But what if you didn’t do anything wrong? what if you were kidnapped, forced to do things against your will, and only after being caught did you get slated?  Kyla soon learns that this might be the case for her.  She is not like the other slated kids her age.  She remembers things, from her past.  With the help of a friend Kyla will have to learn about her past to save her future.  The first book in a trilogy this is a must read.  I loved every turn of the page. Yes it has a strong female lead, and yes it is a dystopian novel, but Kyla’s story is one that you will not be able to look away from.

 

15793528

One + One = Blue by MJ Auch
I must begin by saying when I read about this book I was very excited. The main character is suffering from a condition called Synesthesia. This is when your senses for example hearing is simultaneously perceived as if by one or more additional senses such as sight. Another form of synesthesia joins objects such as letters, shapes, numbers or people’s names with a sensory perception such as smell, color or flavor. The word synesthesia comes from two Greek words, syn (together) and aisthesis (perception). Therefore, synesthesia literally means “joined perception.”  In this case the main character Basil Feeney associated colors with his numbers. Each number has a different color. Basil thinks he is all alone in the world until he meets Tenzie a new girl at school who has the same condition.  Now this really got me interested because I have never read a book where the characters have this type of condition.  However, suddenly we are learning about why Basil’s mother abandoned him with grandmother when he was 5 and now she wants back in his life.  He must come to terms with this but also try and help Tenzie realize that her home life is not as bad as she thinks.  The only time the mention of their condition is when they are on the road trying to remember a street address and phone number but their condition is having them mix up numbers.  This is a great coming of age story but the addition of the synesthesia angle is lacking. I would have like to have seen more with this.  Overall it is a good book but I felt it needed an extra umph.

 

Hope you enjoy these and I hope you find the reviews useful.

Keep reading my friends. Keep reading

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Reading, Reviews

Leave a Reply

