Review for LIFE AFTER LIFE by Kate Atkinson

As I stated earlier, I was in the middle of reading Life after Life by Kate Atkinson. I just finished it yesterday and I felt I should share with you my thoughts.   I  must start with saying that I am a Kate Atkinson fan.  My first peek into her writing was Case Histories and I starting reading everything she wrote.  I am a huge Jackson Brodie fan so when I saw she was releasing a new novel it caught my attention. Needless to say it took a while for me to get to it, but I finally was able to read it. And. I. Loved. It.

The concept of a young  British woman, Ursula Todd, born on a snowy night in 1910 only to quickly die; than on that same snowy night in a young British woman, Ursula Todd is born and goes on to live, and live a unique life to say the least, caught me by surprise. It didn’t seem like a concept/genre Ms. Atkinson would gravitate towards.  However, the way she writes, you forget that you are reading a story whose main character is a reincarnation of themselves, several times over.  The way she weaves Ursula’s lives together creates an amazing taparisty of imaginitve and historical stories.  Urusla suffers through some horrific events, and meets a man who’s place in history brings feelings of hatred. It is how Ursula handles each of these moments again and again that truly moves this story.

This is a unique story that I recommend to any reader and one that will have a place in future “Top” lists.

Well done Kate. Well done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Reading, Reviews

Leave a Reply

