Book Reviews

I have been very lucky to work with Library Media Connection (LMC) magazine as a reviewer.  I enjoy being able to view titles before they come out and get the opportunity to give my opinion.   I take two sides to reviewing.

1) I look from the eyes of a librarian and reviewer.  I look for the quality of the writing, the character development, and the movement of the plot.  I resist the urge to not read other reviews of the title until I am done with mine. I do not want any outside influences.  Because I know that my opinion might be different; and I don’t want their opinion changing how I write my review.  My main goal as a reviewer is, what would make me or my students pick this up?

Which brings me to…

2) I try to look through the eyes of my students.  I am lucky in the sense that I oversee two libraries, it provides me with the opportunity to see a variety of reading styles and trends.  And a majority of the books that I review are geared toward middle school ages readers, so I focus on how my students would react to seeing this title on my shelves.  Would they want to read it?  What can I say to make them want to read it?  As a librarian my goal is to see more students reading for pleasure, so being a reviewer allows me the opportunity to get a jump on who to promote new titles.

So my goal for this post is to share with you some of the titles that I have had the chance to review. I will not be showing all of them, but a good amount and the ones I feel you should check out.  I hope you, and your young readers, enjoy them. (sorry of the lack of cover images. My service is on the fritz today)

The Problem with Being Slightly Heroic by Uma Krishnaswami

Killer Species #1:  Menace from the Deep by Michael P. Spradlin (this is part of a series)

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee

The Last Wild by Piers Torday (this is the first of a series)

Good Crooks series by Mary Amato

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Reviews

Leave a Reply

