Some Thoughts on e-Books

Yes I am librarian, and yes I love books, the actual physical book.  But that does not mean that I turn my nose up at e-books.  My husband loves them. Really the only way he reads books.  I too have several e-books in my library on my iPad, but I still love the actual book. However, e-books do help in many ways, so allow me to give you some reasons why I think e-books are valuable to have. But make no mistake…I still would rather hold the book in my hand, since to me if offers a richer experience.

1. For young readers, or those struggling to read, many of the e-book apps are engage the users instantly since they have built-in multimedia functions.  This will capture attentions faster than words on a page by simply providing more than just a reading tool, but a full interactive experience.

2. They travel easily.  Load up a Kindle, Nook, iPad or other device and you can have a whole library to take with you.  Perfect for long car rides, airplane trips, or other vacationing times. This also comes in handy when you have several different reading levels, from picture books to YA novels.  This will support all readers in one handy device.

3. They do save money. On average e-books cost less than its printed counterpart.  So many parents will enjoy this aspect.

Ok so I gave you three very good reasons for choosing e-books.  But again, I must comment that I am still a fan of the physical product.  I experience a more personal connection to the material; I enjoy the aspect of holding on to covers (if I grab to tight I don’t run the risk of flipping the page like I have done with e-books).  However, I am also a realist.  I am of a dying breed I hate to say.  e-Books are not going anywhere, we should all face it.  But I will forever buy a book, an actual book.  With that said I am simply happy knowing that people, especially kids, are reading. In any format.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, ebooks, Reading

One response to “Some Thoughts on e-Books

  1. As a writer who loves the nuances of typefaces and page design as well as the feel of fine paper and binding, I’m still deeply indebted to the opportunities digital books are presenting.
    For starters, ebooks are once more making it possible to present small- to mid-range volumes (as my own new novel, Hippie Drum, demonstrates). They’re also likely to replace many of the pricy but short-lived technical manuals, textbooks, and the like. Already, annual telephone books are becoming history (just see how quickly they’re shrinking).
    But I’m also finding access to many rare books and historic source materials, some with parallel pages of readable type and the original handset type. To imagine, reading these at home rather than having to traipse halfway around the world and to do so in the wee hours as well.
    Still, there’s no substitute for the experience of scanning the spines on your own bookshelves, knowing a particular author is right there. Or the related joy of rediscovering a treasure you enjoyed years ago, and then finding it’s lost none of its fine edge.
    There’s a place for both digital and paper in the foreseeable future, each serving a different niche.

Leave a Reply

