Hungry for More???

With the one of the most anticipated movies opening today (psst it’s The Hunger Games for those who have been living under a rock), I wanted to give you a list of books that would be the perfect follow-up read to the popular series. These YA novels are only some of the amazing series and stand alone books out there for teenagers, and adults.  I would suggest parents, teachers, and librarians to look over them first before  recommending them to certain age groups. 

The Maze Runner series

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.  Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.  Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.   Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

The Barcode Tattoo

Individuality vs. Conformity
Identity vs. Access
Freedom vs. Control
The bar code tattoo. Everybody’s getting it. It will make your life easier, they say. It will hook you in. It will become your identity.
But what if you say no? What if you don’t want to become a code? For Kayla, this one choice changes everything. She becomes an outcast in her high school. Dangerous things happen to her family. There’s no option but to run…for her life.

The Uglies series

Set in a future post-scarcity dystopian world in which everyone if turned “Pretty” by extreme cosmetic surgery upon reaching the age of 16.

Tomorrow series

The Tomorrow series is a series of seven young adult invasion novels written by Australian writer John Mardsen, detailing a high-intensity invansion and occupation  of Australia by a foreign power.  The novels are told from the prespective of Ellie Linton, a teenage girl who is part of a small band of teenagers waging a guerrilla war on the enemy soliders in the region around their fictional home town of Wirrawee.  Though this series was first published in 1993-1999 it has a very Hunger Games quality to it.  It also reminds me of the 1980’s movie Red Dawn.


The Elevent Plague

In an America devastated by war and plague, the only way to survive is to keep moving. In the aftermath of a war, America’s landscape has been ravaged and two-thirds of the population left dead from a vicious strain of influenza. Fifteen-year-old Stephen Quinn and his family were among the few that survived and became salvagers, roaming the country in search of material to trade. But when Stephen’s grandfather dies and his father falls into a coma after an accident, Stephen finds his way to Settler’s Landing, a community that seems too good to be true. Then Stephen meets strong, defiant, mischievous Jenny, who refuses to accept things as they are. And when they play a prank that goes horribly wrong, chaos erupts, and they find themselves in the midst of a battle that will change Settler’s Landing–and their lives–forever.

Divergent series

One choice can transform you. Pass initiation. Do not fail! Thrilling urban dystopian fiction debut from exciting young author. In sixteen-year-old Beatrice Prior’s world, society is divided into five factions — Abnegation (the selfless), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent) — each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue, in the attempt to form a “perfect society.” At the age of sixteen, teens must choose the faction to which they will devote their lives. On her Choosing Day, Beatrice renames herself Tris, rejects her family’s group, and chooses another faction. After surviving a brutal initiation, Tris finds romance with a super-hot boy, but also discovers unrest and growing conflict in their seemingly “perfect society.” To survive and save those they love, they must use their strengths to uncover the truths about their identities, their families, and the order of their society itself.

The Gone series

The series is centred around the fictional Californian town of Perdido Beach. Every human over the age of 15 vanishes and the town and surrounding areas (later named the FAYZ) are encased within an impenetrable bubble. Many of the people and wildlife develop unnatural powers.

The Mortal Instruaments series

In The Mortal Instruments series, Clary Fray discovers the world of the Shadowhunters as they fight to protect the world from demons. This is a six book series with the sixth book coming out in October of 2014.

Infernal Devices series

This series takes place in Victorian England, ten years after the peace treaties between the demon-fighting Shadowhunters and Downworlders (vampires, faeries, werewolves, and warlocks) was signed. As Shadowhunters consider themselves superior or purer than Downworlders or demons, they may have no qualms about killing either. The first book in The Infernal Devices is entitled Clockwork Angel  and begins the story of Tessa, an orphaned teenage girl who discovers she is an Eidolon, or shape-changer, with unique powers. But these new-found abilities plunge her into a world she never knew existed, and she will have to learn to master them if she wants to find her brother, and to do this she will have to forge an alliance with some Shadowhunters if she wants to survive in this dangerous world. Many of the family names of the shadow hunters used in the first series are introduced in this series. Another character, Magnus Bane, the High Warlock of Brooklyn, plays a part in this Victorian England series. 145 years later, he is a part of the Mortal Instrument series.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s